20th Century Masters: Millennium Collection (2002)

1. Yesterday Once More (1991 remix)
2. I Need to Be in Love (1991 remix)
3. Please Mr. Postman (1991 remix)
4. Bless the Beasts and the Children (1991 remix)
5. This Masquerade (1991 remix)
6. I Just Fall in Love Again
7. I Believe You
8. Top of the World (1973 version, 1991 remix)
9. Love is Surrender (1987 remix)
10. Maybe It's You (1990 remix)
11. Only Yesterday (1991 remix)
12. Goodbye to Love (1991 remix)

Buy from Amazon:
U.S. CD release

This is a fairly pointless collection. It's part of a series of CDs (all called "20th Century Masters: The Millenium Collection") which have been released in the past three years, supposedly collecting together the best tracks from every artist in the 20th century.

This particular collection is neither a "greatest-hits" collection, nor a collection of the Carpenters' best-known tracks. Some of the tracks weren't even singles.

The only items of note (all of which are available on other collections) are the remixes of "Love is Surrender," "Maybe It's You" (with the alternate vocal take on the first verse) and "Goodbye to Love" with Karen's initial intake of breath before she starts singing.

My advice: unless you're a Carpenters completist, don't buy this one! Even the photo on the album cover has been used before.

Produced by Richard Carpenter, Karen Carpenter and Jack Daugherty

Return to the Carpenters Album Index.