22 Hits of the Carpenters + Gold DVD (2003)

20th Century Masters CD:

1. I Need to Be In Love (1991 remix)
2. We've Only Just Begun (1985 remix)
3. Superstar (1991 remix)
4. Rainy Days and Mondays (1991 remix)
5. Top of the World (1973 version, 1991 remix)
6. Sing (1994 remix)
7. Only Yesterday
8. Ticket to Ride (1973 version)
9. Goodbye to Love (1991 remix)
10. It's Going to Take Some Time (1991 remix)
11. This Masquerade (1991 remix)
12. Sweet Sweet Smile
13. I Won't Last a Day Without You (1991 remix)
14. Solitaire
15. Please Mr. Postman (1991 remix)
16. Hurting Each Other (1991 remix)
17. There's a Kind of Hush
18. Jambalaya (On the Bayou) (1991 remix)
19. For All We Know (1991 remix)
20. Touch Me When We're Dancing
21. (They Long to Be) Close to You (1991 remix)
22. Yesterday Once More (1991 remix)

Gold DVD:

1. Prologue
2. We've Only Just Begun
3. Those Good Old Dreams
4. Superstar
5. Rainy Days and Mondays
6. All You Get From Love is a Love Song
7. Top of the World
8. Ticket to Ride
9. Only Yesterday
10. Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft
11. Beechwood 4-5789
12. Touch Me When We're Dancing
13. I Need to Be In Love
14. Hurting Each Other
15. Please Mr. Postman
16. There's a Kind of Hush
17. (They Long to Be) Close to You
18. Epilogue

Japanese CD + DVD release

Very much like the U.S. packaging of the Gold DVD with the 20th Century Masters CD, this is a package that includes a "hits" CD with a DVD.

In this case, it's the 1995 collection 22 Hits of the Carpenters as the CD (although pressed onto a gold CD, which is supposedly more archival than the standard aluminum discs), paired with the Japanese Yesterday Once More DVD. I know that they're calling the DVD Gold,, but it's not the same as the U.S. Gold DVD...

This really is the Japanese Yesterday Once More DVD -- it contains the same 16 videos (including the rare "I Need to Be In Love" video), and the title screen even says "Yesterday Once More." They didn't replace the title screen the way they did in the U.S. Gold DVD.

Of particular interest to those not in the U.S. is the fact that the DVD is coded for regions 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6. This means that it is basically playable anywhere in the world EXCEPT the United States, as long as you have the capability of playing an NTSC-standard DVD. When I played mine today, I happened to have my DVD player set for region 4 (Australia), and it played just fine. It would not play in a regular region 1 (U.S.) DVD player, though.

Other than the packaging, there is nothing new or different here. It's all been released before...

Produced by Richard Carpenter, Karen Carpenter and Jack Daugherty

Return to the Carpenters Album Index.