The Carpenters Collection: Their Greatest Hits (1989?)

1. (They Long to Be) Close to You (single edit)
2. We've Only Just Begun (1985 remix)
3. Top of the World (1973 version)
4. It's Going to Take Some Time
5. Only Yesterday
6. Jambalaya (On the Bayou)
7. Because We Are In Love (The Wedding Song)
8. Touch Me When We're Dancing
9. Sweet Sweet Smile
10. Please Mr. Postman
11. Sing
12. Yesterday Once More (1985 remix)
13. There's a Kind of Hush (1985 remix)
14. Our Day Will Come
15. I Won't Last a Day Without You
16. Superstar (1985 remix)
17. This Masquerade
18. Ticket to Ride (1973 version)
19. Goodbye to Love (1985 remix)
20. A Song for You (1987 remix)

European CD release

This CD was released in the European markets some time around 1989. There is no copyright date on the CD I have, so I'm not sure of the exact year of release. It's possible that different countries released the same set of songs with slightly different covers (I recall seeing one with a white cover once).

While there isn't anything new or special on this CD, there is one oddity - the track "Our Day Will Come" is lifted directly from the "Oldies Medley" on side 2 of Now & Then. It actually beings by cutting into Tony Peluso's DJ routine halfway through a word. Very poor job on the part of whoever mastered this disc...

Other than that, the standard remixes apply, and it includes the lesser-heard 1987 remix of "A Song for You."

Produced by Richard Carpenter, Karen Carpenter and Jack Daugherty

Return to the Carpenters Album Index.