Gold: 35th Anniversary Edition (2004)

Disc 1:

1. Superstar (1991 remix)
2. Rainy Days And Mondays (1985 remix)
3. Top Of The World (1973 version, 1991 remix)
4. Maybe It's You (1990 remix)
5. Let Me Be The One
6. Reason To Believe (1987 remix)
7. Jambalaya (On The Bayou) (1991 remix)
8. Leave Yesterday Behind *
9. Your Baby Doesn't Love You Anymore
10. Bless The Beasts And Children (1991 remix)
11. It's Going To Take Some Time (1989 remix)
12. The Rainbow Connection *
13. Only Yesterday
14. Sweet, Sweet Smile
15. There's A Kind Of Hush (All Over The World) (1985 remix)
16. California Dreamin' *
17. Solitaire (single version) *
18. We've Only Just Begun (1985 remix)
19. This Masquerade (1990 remix)
20. Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft (1989 remix)

Disc 2:

1. Yesterday Once More (1985 remix)
2. Please Mr. Postman (1991 remix)
3. Hurting Each Other (1991 remix)
4. I Need To Be In Love (1990 remix)
5. Merry Christmas Darling (1978 version)
6. (They Long To Be) Close To You
7. All You Get From Love Is A Love Song
8. Sing (1994 remix)
9. Make Believe It's Your First Time
10. Ticket To Ride (1973 version)
11. Goodbye To Love (1985 remix)
12. I Just Fall In Love Again
13. I Believe You
14. Tryin' To Get The Feeling Again
15. For All We Know (1990 remix)
16. Touch Me When We're Dancing
17. I Won't Last A Day Without You (1991 remix)
18. Mr. Guder (1990 remix)
19. A Song For You (1987 remix)
20. Karen's Theme

* Denotes track released for the first time on CD in the U.S.

Buy from Amazon:
U.S. CD release

This 2-CD set marks the debut of the Gold CD to the U.S. market. It is, however, significantly different from its European and Japanese counterparts.

With 40 tracks, it's twice as big as the other versions of Gold, and it contains a wide selection of both hits and album tracks. Three of the tracks are previously unreleased in the U.S. (which seems to be a marketing point): "Leave Yesterday Behind," "The Rainbow Connection" and "California Dreamin'." All three of these tracks are found on As Time Goes By, the only complete album of "new" Carpenters material since the '80s. Incidentally, As Time Goes By is tentatively scheduled for a U.S. release in April of 2004, but we'll have to see how that goes...

The only true find on this new set is the single version of "Solitaire." The single mix adds in the electric guitars a bit earlier and also adds a pipe organ later in the song, and this mix has never been made available on any album or CD compilation.

Some Carpenters fans are finding it odd that "Merry Christmas, Darling" is being included in the middle of disc 2, rather than at the end of a disc as a bonus track. I don't mind having it in the middle of the disc, since I've always considered the song more a "Carpenters" song than a "Christmas" song. Plus, "Merry Christmas, Darling" has probably sold more copies than a lot of their other singles!

This set looks like it will be replacing Yesterday Once More as the definitive "hits" collection in the U.S. There are only three tracks from Yesterday Once More that are not on this set, and of those, only "Those Good Old Dreams" is a real loss (the other two, "Because We Are In Love" and "(Want You) Back In My Life Again" were not even remotely hits).

The mixes here are not particularly unusual -- almost every track here is presented in a remixed form, with only a few exceptions. I find it interesting that original mix of "Let Me Be the One" is used here, since it was significantly re-recorded and remixed in 1990. Richard Carpenter seems to have settled on which remixes he likes best, and these seem to be the ones that are turning up on the last few new compilations.

The liner notes are extensive and informative, with an autobiography and track-by-track commentary from Richard Carpenter. The liner notes alone make this a far superior set to many of the previous "hits" compilations!

Please note that the 2-CD U.S. version of Gold is also availble in a package with the Gold DVD; it is listed next in this discography.

Produced by Richard Carpenter, Karen Carpenter and Jack Daugherty

Return to the Carpenters Album Index.