Yesterday Once More: Original Master Karaoke (1992)

1. Yesterday Once More (karaoke mix)
2. Superstar (karaoke mix)
3. Rainy Days and Mondays (karaoke mix)
4. Top of the World (karaoke mix)
5. This Masquerade (karaoke mix)
6. I Won't Last a Day Without You (karaoke mix)
7. For All We Know (karaoke mix)
8. Jambalaya (On the Bayou) (karaoke mix)
9. (They Long to Be) Close to You (karaoke mix)
10. Hurting Each Other (karaoke mix)
11. Please Mr. Postman (karaoke mix)
12. Bless the Beasts and Children (karaoke mix)
13. Goodbye to Love (karaoke mix)
14. I Need to Be In Love (karaoke mix)
15. We've Only Just Begun (karaoke mix)

Japanese CD release

This is actually something QUITE interesting. This is a CD of karaoke versions of Carpenters' songs, but it's not your everyday karaoke CD -- these are the original tracks, digitally remixed and remastered without the original lead vocals.

Most karaoke CDs are re-creations of the original songs, not performed by the original artists, but this CD actually contains the backing tracks to each of these Carpenters' songs. So here you get to hear Richard's arrangements more clearly. As an added bonus, the original backing vocals were left on the songs, so you also get to hear them in a way you've never heard them before. It's a fascinating glimpse into the way these songs are structured, and the care and detail that was put into the creation of each song. Plus, it's just fun to sing along!

I'll admit, it is initially a little haunting to hear the introduction to a song, and then not hear Karen enter as she always does, but once you get used to it, you can really enjoy these songs in a new and different way.

This CD was originally released as part of a 2-CD package called Best of the Best, on which disc one contained the 15 Carpenters' songs, and disc two contained the karaoke versions of those same songs. The version shown here is the later, single-disc version, containing only the karaoke versions.

While this collection is out-of-print and hard to find, there is a subsequent (expanded) karaoke collection available as disc two of the Twenty-Two Hits of the Carpenters: 10th Annversary Edition set.

Produced by Richard Carpenter, Karen Carpenter and Jack Daugherty

Return to the Carpenters Album Index.