Only Yesterday: Richard and Karen Carpenter's Greatest Hits (1990)

1. Yesterday Once More (1985 remix)
2. Superstar (1985 remix)
3. Rainy Days and Mondays (1985 remix)
4. Top of the World (1973 version)
5. Ticket to Ride (1973 version)
6. Goodbye to Love (1985 remix)
7. This Masquerade
8. Hurting Each Other
9. Solitaire
10. We've Only Just Begun (1985 remix)
11. Those Good Old Dreams
12. Please Mr. Postman
13. I Won't Last a Day Without You
14. Touch Me When We're Dancing
15. Jambalaya (On the Bayou)
16. For All We Know
17. All You Get From Love is a Love Song
18. (They Long to Be) Close to You (single edit)
19. Only Yesterday
20. Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft (1989 remix)

Buy from Amazon:
UK CD release

Only Yesterday was intended to be *the* single-disc collection of Carpenters' hits. It has all the major singles from the early years (except "It's Going to Take Some Time" and "Sing"), and a number of singles from the post 1975-era.

There's not much that stands out here; a few of the commonly-heard remixes are here. There is one new remix that appears for the first time on this disc -- the remix of "Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft" had not appeared on any previous release (this version is just marginally different from the original version, with minor adjustments made to various instruments to improve the clarity).

The big deal about this CD was that it went to #1 on the British charts. I was in England in 1990 when this CD was released, and it was quite amazing to walk into a CD store and see a HUGE Carpenters display!

Subsequent versions of this CD seem to have deleted the Only Yesterday title and just put Their Greatest Hits on the cover. The track listing is the same on both versions, though.

Produced by Richard Carpenter, Karen Carpenter and Jack Daugherty

Return to the Carpenters Album Index.