Christmas Portrait: The Special Edition (1984)

1. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear
2. Overture from An Old-Fashioned Christmas
3. An Old-Fashioned Christmas
4. Christmas Waltz
5. Sleigh Ride
6. It's Christmas Time/Sleep Well Little Children
7. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
8. Santa Claus is Comin' to Town
9. The Christmas Song
10. Carol of the Bells
11. Merry Christmas Darling
12. Christ is Born
13. O Holy Night
14. Home for the Holidays
15. Medley: Here Comes Santa Claus, et al
16. Winter Wonderland
17. Silver Bells
18. White Christmas
19. Ave Maria
20. Selections from "The Nutcracker"
21. Little Altar Boy
22. I'll Be Home for Christmas
23. Silent Night

Buy from Amazon:
CD release only

This is one of the first CDs ever released by the Carpenters. It was released at about the same time as An Old-Fashioned Christmas, and contained a number of songs from that album, mixed in with songs from Christmas Portrait.

The problem with this CD is that, for twelve years, the two complete original Christmas albums were not available on CD -- this CD was always used as "the Carpenters' Christmas album." Thankfully, that has changed, and this CD is now just an oddity.

The songs from Christmas Portrait on this CD are their original mixes, at least. There are a few problems with the track listing on the back of my CD; "Sleep Well, Little Children" isn't listed at all, and "Winter Wonderland," "Silver Bells" and "White Christmas" are all listed as one track, when they are actually given their own track numbers on the disc itself.

Produced by Richard and Karen Carpenter

Return to the Carpenters Album Index.