The Singles: 1969-1981 (SACD hybrid) (2004)

This is a tentative track listing:
1.Yesterday Once More (2004 remix)
2. We've Only Just Begun (2004 remix)
3. Superstar (2004 remix)
4. Rainy Days and Mondays (2004 remix)
5. Goodbye to Love (2004 remix)
6. I Believe You (2004 remix)
7. It's Going to Take Some Time (2004 remix)
8. This Masquerade (2004 remix)
9. Ticket to Ride (2004 remix)
10. Top of the World (2004 remix)
11. Only Yesterday (2004 remix)
12. Hurting Each Other (2004 remix)
13. Please Mr. Postman (2004 remix)
14. Merry Christmas, Darling (2004 remix)
15. Sing (2004 remix)
16. Bless the Beasts and Children (2004 remix)
17. I Won't Last a Day Without You (2004 remix)
18. Touch Me When We're Dancing (2004 remix)
19. For All We Know (2004 remix)
20. (They Long to Be) Close to You (2004 remix)
21. Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft (2004 remix)

Buy from Amazon:
U.S. SACD hybrid release

This is the first Carpenters release in the SACD format. It is a hybrid disc, meaning it will play in both regular CD players and SACD players.

There are two different mixes of each song on the disc -- the SACD layer of the disc contains brand new 5.1-channel mixes, mixed by Richard Carpenter himself during 2004. The CD layer contains a 2-channel (stereo) mix of each song. These stereo mixes are entirely new mixes which were created after the 5.1-channel mixes were completed. The 5.1 channel mixes were "folded down" into stereo mixes, so even if you can't play a SACD, you can enjoy new mixes of these songs.

This disc appears not to have been widely distributed to stores, selling mostly in stores that carried high-resolution audio products. It also went out-of-print fairly quickly, so used copies are about the only way to get it now.

Produced by Richard Carpenter, Karen Carpenter and Jack Daugherty

Return to the Carpenters Album Index.