Gold (Deluxe Sound + Vision) (Japanese version) (2003)

Disc 1: Gold

1. Yesterday Once More (1991 remix)
2. Superstar (1991 remix)
3. Rainy Days and Mondays (1991 remix)
4. Goodbye to Love (1991 remix)
5. It's Going to Take Some Time (1991 remix)
6. I Won't Last a Day Without You (1991 remix)
7. For All We Know (1991 remix)
8. Jambalaya (On the Bayou) (1991 remix)
9. Touch Me When We're Dancing
10. Please Mr. Postman (1991 remix)
11. I Need to Be In Love (1991 remix)
12. Solitaire
13. We've Only Just Begun (1991 remix)
14. (They Long to Be) Close to You (1991 remix)
15. This Masquerade (1991 remix)
16. Ticket to Ride (1973 version)
17. Top of the World (1973 version, 1991 remix)
18. Only Yesterday (1991 remix)
19. Sing (1994 remix)
20. Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft (1989 remix)

Disc 2: Christmas Portrait

1. O Come, O Come Emmanuel (1992 remix)
2. Overture: (1992 remix)
Deck the Halls
I Saw Three Ships
Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen
Away In a Manger
What Child Is This (Greensleeves)
Carol of the Bells
O Come, All Ye Faithful
3. The Christmas Waltz (1992 remix)
4. Sleigh Ride (1992 remix)
5. It's Christmas Time/Sleep Well, Little Children (1992 remix)
6. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (1992 remix)
7. Santa Claus is Coming to Town (1992 remix)
8. The Christmas Song (1992 remix)
9. Silent Night (1992 remix)
10. Jingle Bells (1992 remix)
11. The First Snowfall/Let It Snow (1992 remix)
12. Carol of the Bells (1992 remix)
13. Merry Christmas Darling
14. I'll Be Home for Christmas (1992 remix)
15. Christ is Born (1992 remix)
16. Winter Wonderland/Silver Bells/White Christmas (1992 remix)
17. Ave Maria (1992 remix)

DVD: Gold

1. We've Only Just Begun
2. Those Good Old Dreams
3. Superstar
4. Rainy Days and Mondays
5. All You Get From Love is a Love Song
6. Top of the World
7. Ticket to Ride
8. Only Yesterday
9. Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft
10. Beechwood 4-5789
11. Touch Me When We're Dancing
12. Hurting Each Other
13. Please Mr. Postman
14. There's a Kind of Hush
15. (They Long to Be) Close to You

Buy from Amazon:
Japanese CD/DVD release

This collection from Japan combines three popular items into one box. First is the collection Gold, as it was released in Europe in 2000. The second disc is the complete Christmas Portrait album, in its 1996 iteration for the Christmas Collection. Third in the set is the DVD of Gold, which is identical to the U.S. release of the DVD.

All three discs are in a DVD-case-size slipcover. Inside the slipcover is a case that folds out into four panels; one panel contains a small booklet, and the other three panels each hold one disc. The booklet contains only a minimum of song title and publishing info. There is a separate booklet that comes with the set that has notes on all the songs, but it's written entirely in Japanese...

Aside from the nice presentation, there's nothing new or noteworthy about this set. Each of the discs is identical to versions released earlier, so this collection is really only of interest to the most serious collector.

The good news for international buyers is that the DVD appears to be a region 0 DVD, so it can play in DVD players in any part of the world.

Produced by Richard Carpenter, Karen Carpenter and Jack Daugherty

Return to the Carpenters Album Index.