The Ultimate Collection (UK) (2006)

Disc 1:

1. Ticket to Ride (1973 version)
2. (They Long to Be) Close to You (1991 remix)
3. We've Only Just Begun (1991 remix)
4. For All We Know (1991 remix)
5. Rainy Days and Mondays (1991 remix)
6. Superstar (1991 remix)
7. Bless the Beasts and Children (1991 remix)
8. Hurting Each Other (1991 remix)
9. It's Going to Take Some Time (1991 remix)
10. Goodbye to Love (1991 remix)
11. Top of the World (1973 version)
12. I Won't Last a Day Without You (1991 remix)
13. Sing (1994 remix)
14. Yesterday Once More (1991 remix)
15. This Masquerade (1991 remix)
16. Jambalaya (On the Bayou) (1991 remix)
17. Please Mr. Postman (1991 remix)
18. Desperado

Disc 2:

1. Only Yesterday (1991 remix)
2. Solitaire
3. There's a Kind of Hush (1985 remix)
4. I Need to Be In Love (1990 remix)
5. Sandy
6. All You Get from Love is a Love Song
7. Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft (The Recognized Anthem of World Contact Day) (1989 remix)
8. Sweet Sweet Smile
9. I Believe You
10. Touch Me When We're Dancing
11. When It's Gone
12. Those Good Old Dreams
13. Where Do I go From Here
14. You're the One
15. Now
16. Your Baby Doesn't Love You Anymore
17. Tryin' to Get the Feeling Again

Buy from Amazon:
UK CD release

This set is very similar to the Dutch Ultimate Collection, with two major differences -- it doesn't contain the bonus disc of solo material, and it consists mainly of remixes, rather than the original album versions of the songs.

A few substitutions have been made from the Dutch version, mainly from the latter half of the Carpenters' career. "Sandy" has replaced "Goofus," "When It's Gone" has replaced "(Want You) Back in My Life Again," "Your Baby Doesn't Love You Anymore" has replaced "Make Believe It's Your First Time." Two songs from Lovelines have been added to this collection.

This is a fine-sounding collection, but there's nothing new here that can't be found on other compilations. The packaging is a bit different from any other Carpenters CD -- it comes in a jewel cast that holds both discs on one spindle (one on top of the other). This makes is a little difficult to play just the second disc, as you have to remove the first disc to get at the second one. The tray card also has albums covers shown, including Karen and Richard's solo albums, which are not represented in this collection.

Produced by Richard Carpenter, Karen Carpenter and Jack Daugherty

Return to the Carpenters Album Index.