Comprehensive Nanci Griffith Discography

Page 6: Commercially-available videos featuring Nanci

Go to: Albums / Compilation Albums / Various Artist Collections / Guest Appearances / Promos / Other

These are commercially-released VHS tapes, LaserDiscs and DVDs with appearances by Nanci.

This page last updated on 2/6/2005

One Fair Summer Evening (1988)
One Fair Summer Evening... Plus (2005)
MCA Music Video

1. Once In a Very Blue Moon
2. More Than a Whisper
3. Love at the Five and Dime
4. Looking for the Time (Working Girl)
5. Deadwood, South Dakota
6. Workin' In Corners
7. From a Distance
8. I Would Bring You Ireland
9. Spin on a Red Brick Floor
10. There's a Light Beyond These
Woods (Mary Margaret)
11. Wichita Falls Waltz

Bonus videos (on DVD only):
I Knew Love
I Don't Want to Talk About Love
It's a Hard Life Wherever You Go
Late Night Grande Hotel
Well... Allright (with the Crickets)

This is the companion to the album of the same name. While they share the same name, however, they are somewhat different. For one, the CD contains several songs that aren't on the video. Also, the video has two songs that aren't on the CD (songs 10 and 11). In addition to that, the recordings on the video aren't necessarily the same recordings as the ones on the CD -- if you listen carefully, you'll notice that some of the spoken intros to the songs are slightly different.

This video is now available on DVD! The DVD is actually titled One Fair Summer Evening... Plus. The best news about the DVD is that the audio has been remixed for 5.1 sound. It's not all that significant a difference on the concert video, but for the five music videos, it is a real treat to hear these songs presented in a true surround mix.

The concert was also issued on VHS and LaserDisc, and used copies of the VHS can usually be found at

Buy the VHS:

Buy the DVD:

The Chieftans -- The Bells of Dublin (1991)
BMG/RCA Victor Video,
Nanci sings:

The Wexford Carol

Nanci is not actually seen on this video, but a concept video for her track "The Wexford Carol" is shown.

This video is out-of-print but was originally available on VHS and LaserDisc.

The Chieftans -- An Irish Evening (1992)
BMG/RCA Victor Video,
Nanci sings:

Little Love Affairs (live)
Red Is the Rose (live)
Ford Econoline (live)

This is the video which accompanies the CD of the same title. This was the first Nanci-related video I know of to have been released on DVD; it was also available on videotape and LaserDisc. Only the DVD is currently in print.

Other Voices Other Rooms (1993)
Elektra, 49157-6
1. There's a Light Beyond These
Woods (Mary Margaret)
2. Trouble in the Fields
3. Across the Great Divide
4. Are You Tired of Me My Darling
5. Speed of the Sound of Loneliness
6. Three Flights Up
7. Can't Help But Wonder Where I'm
8. Morning Song for Sally
9. Night Rider's Lament
10. Tecumseh Valley
11. Tonite I Think I'm Gonna Go
12. So Long Ago
13. Wimoweh
14. It's a Hard Life Wherever You Go
15. The Wing and the Wheel
16. Speed of the Sound of Loneliness
(music video)

This glorious video was shot over two nights at Austin's Paramount Theatre at the end of Nanci's U.S. Other Voices Other Rooms tour. Many, many guest stars appear with Nanci, including Emmylou Harris, Iris DeMent, Frank Christian, Jerry Jeff Walker, Don Edwards, Tom Paxton, Carolyn Hester, Townes Van Zandt, Jimmie Dale Gilmore, Odetta, and Governor Ann Richards. Unfortunately, several other guests who appeared onstage with Nanci on those evenings were left out, like John Gorka, Alison Krauss and Nina Gerber. I know because I was there...

This was originally available on VHS tape and LaserDisc...

Bob Dylan 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration (1993)
Nanci and Carolyn Hester sing:

Boots of Spanish Leather
This concert video contains a song by Nanci with Carolyn Hester. Unfortunately, the CD version of this concert doesn't include Nanci, so the video is the only place to find this recording.

This is out-of-print but was originally available on VHS tape and LaserDisc.

Red Hot + Country (1994)
Nanci sings:

If These Old Walls Could Speak
This is a commercial release of the TNN broadcast of a concert performance of the songs on the album of the same name.

This video is out-of-print, but copies can usually be found if you look around a bit.

Other Voices Too: An Evening With Nanci Griffith and the Blue Moon Orchestra (1999)
Elektra, 40211-3
1. Wall of Death
2. Trouble in the Fields
3. Who Know Where the Time Goes
4. Canadian Whiskey
5. Kunbaya
6. Dress of Laces
7. Outbound Plane
8. Never Be the Sun
9. He Was a Friend of Mine
10. It's a Hard Life Wherever You Go
11. Hard Times Come Again No More
12. The Road to Aberdeen
13. If I Had a Hammer
Similar to the first Other Voices video, this is a live concert in which Nanci is joined by numerous guests and friends. Filmed in Scotland. Only released on VHS tape.

Don McLean -- Starry, Starry Night (2000)
Nanci sings duets on:

And I Love You So
Raining in My Heart
This is a live concert video of Don McLean performing at the Paramount Theatre in Austin, TX -- the same place Nanci's Other Voices Other Rooms video was filmed. Nanci appears and sings with Don McLean. Released on VHS and DVD.

Buy the DVD:

Buy the VHS:

Winter Marquee (2002)
Rounder Records,
1. Speed of the Sound of Loneliness
2. Two For the Road
3. I Wish It Would Rain
4. Boots of Spanish Leather
5. Clock Without Hands
6. There's a Light Beyond These
Woods (Mary Margaret)
7. Listen to the Radio
8. Gulf Coast Highway
9. Flyer
10. Goodnight, New York
11. Lost Him In The Sun
12. Traveling Through This Part of You
13. Last Train Home
14. I'm Not Driving These Wheels
15. What's That I Hear
16. White Freight Liner
17. Home on the Radio
18. If I Had a Hammer
This is the video version of the album of the same name. As far as I can tell, it is only available on DVD. The DVD contains all the songs from the CD, sequenced slightly differently, plus it contains four songs not on the CD -- "Clock Without Hands," "Lost Him In the Sun," "Home on the Radio" and "If I Had a Hammer." Of these, "Home on the Radio" has never been recorded by Nanci before.

Go to: Albums / Compilation Albums / Various Artist Collections / Guest Appearances / Promos / Other

Return to the Discographies home page.